Our Club – The beginning…

Nunk Patterson-compressed

Cyril “Nunk” Patterson was the first coach and acknowledged founder of Brothers Cricket Club.

Mr Patterson coached his son Peter and some of his school friends from Mundingburra State School. These boys joined with a group of boys from St John Fisher’s to make a team. The boys initially trained at the Patterson home on Charters Towers Road in Hermit Park. Later they trained and played at Gill Park. They were originally known as St John Fisher’s Cricket Club and were supported by the Christian Brothers who provided them with training equipment.


St John Fisher’s Cricket Club entered the school competition circa 1959.

Over the next few years’ numbers increased and the club grew.  At this time there was a junior club and a separate senior club.

As the club grew it changed its name to Past Brothers and played its first game in the A Grade competition in the 1965/66 season.

Years later at a Special Meeting on 7th December 1980 a motion was made to merge the junior and senior clubs to form Brothers Cricket Club, which is how we know the club today.

Celebrating 50 years

A number of events were planned to celebrate 50 years of Brothers Cricket.

Old Boys T20 Game-compressed

Old Boys T20 Game on Sunday 29th August 2010


Naming of the Oval-compressed

Naming of the Oval on Sunday 26th September 2010

On Sunday 26th September Brothers Cricket Club celebrated the official naming of the Willows field as the “John McCulloch Oval”.

John, the current President, has been actively involved at Brothers Cricket Club for 30 years as a player and an administrator.

Read more about this event.



50 Year Celebration Dinner on April 11th 2011

On April 11th 2011 past players, present players, old & new supporters, family & friends gathered at Ignatius Park Hall to celebrate and reconnect with old acquaintances.

A number of presentations were made during the evening.

Read more about this event.



Our cricketing achievements!

1988/89 – Brothers win all four senior grade finals
1990/91 – A Grade Premiership
1997/98 – A Grade Premiership
1998/99 – A Grade Premiership
1999/00 – A Grade Premiership
2000/01 – A Grade Premiership
2001/02 – A Grade Premiership
2002/03 – A Grade Premiership
2003/04 – A Grade & Reserve Grade Premiership
2004/05 – A Grade & Reserve Grade & 4th Grade Premiership
2006/07 – A Grade Premiership
2007/08 – Reserve & Third Grade Premiership
1997- 2005 – Brothers has been the Townsville Champion Club eight times from
2008/09 – Luke Feldman was Townsville Cricketer of the Year
2009/10 – Andrew Boyle was Townsville Colt of the Year

Our Most Famous “Old” Boy
Luke Feldman – Queensland Bulls

luke feldman-compressed